Republic of the Philippines Congress of the Philippines Metro Manila

Fourteenth Congress

Third Regular Session

Begun and held in Metro Manila, on Monday, the twenty-seventh day of July, two thousand nine.

[REPUBLIC ACT NO. 9724]

AN ACT SEPARATING THE CITY OF ILIGAN FROM THE FIRST LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE PROVINCE OF LANAO DEL NORTE TO CONSTITUTE THE LONE LEGISLATIVE DISTRICT OF THE CITY OF ILIGAN

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

SECTION 1. Lone Legislative District. — The City of Iligan is hereby separated from the First Legislative District of the Province of Lanao del Norte to constitute the Lone Legislative District of the City of Iligan, which shall commence in the next national election after the effectivity of this Act.

SEC. 2. Incumbent Representative. — The incumbent Representative of the First Legislative District of the Province of Lanao del Norte shall continue to represent the said district until the new Representative of the Lone Legislative District of the City of Iligan shall have been elected and qualified.

- SEC. 3. Rules and Regulations. The Commission on Elections shall issue the necessary rules and regulations to implement this Act.
- SEC. 4. Repealing Clause. All laws, rules and regulations inconsistent with this Act are hereby repealed, amended or modified accordingly.
- SEC. 5. Effectivity. This Act shall take effect fifteen (15) days after its publication in at least two (2) newspapers of general circulation.

Approved,

JUAN PERCE ENRILE President of the Senate

PROSPERO C. NOGRALES

Speaker of the House of Representatives

This Act which originated in the House of Representatives was finally passed by the House of Representatives and the Senate on May 28, 2008 and September 28, 2009, respectively.

EMMA LIRIO-REYES Secretary of the Senate

MARILYN B. BARUA-YAP

Secretary General House of Representatives

Approved: 0CT 2 0 2009

GLORIA MACAPAGAL-ARROYO

President of the Philippines



O