Press Release
September 17, 2018

Senate oks bills on holidays

The Senate approved today on third and final reading 14 house bills seeking to declare special non-working holidays in several provinces to commemorate local significant events.

Senator Sonny Angara, chairman of the Senate Committee on Local Government, and sponsor of the bills, said these holidays would be an opportunity for communities to honor and participate in these historical events.

House Bill Nos. 6178, 5563, 2484, 2132, 3710, 2129, 2131, 2130, 6418, 5641, and 2097 propose the declaration of special non-working holidays on January 11 in Bataan; April 21 in Orani, Bataan; June 11 in Sagay, Negros Occidental; June 15 in Oplo, Misamis Oriental; June 27 in El Salvador, Misamis Oriental; July 1 in Alubijid, Misamis Oriental; July 22 in Claveria, Misamis Oriental; September 1 in Jasaan, Misamis Oriental; October 26 in Catanduanes; December 1 in Padre Garcia, Batangas; and December 2 in Pasay City in commemoration of their respective founding anniversaries.

The Senate also approved House Bill No. 2483, which proposes to declare July 4 as a special non-working holiday in Cadiz, Negros Occidental, in commemoration of its charter day anniversary. The Senate also approved House Bill No. 5172, which proposes to declare June 19 as a special non-working holiday in Laguna in honor of the birth anniversary of our national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal and HBN 5551 which proposes to declare a special non-working holiday on September 2 in Albay in honor of the birth anniversary of Simeon Ola, the last general of the Philippines to surrender to the American forces after the Philippine-American War.

"It is also important to honor individuals who have greatly contributed to nation-building. We, especially the youth, should remember those who steered the country towards the independence that we enjoy today," Angara said. (AY Almirañez)

News Latest News Feed