Press Release
February 19, 2018

20 bills creating, converting, separating, integrating and renaming public schools ok'd by Senate

The Senate approved today on third and final reading 20 bills that seek to establish, convert, separate and rename high schools and colleges nationwide.

Approved were the establishment of national high schools in Valenzuela City; Barangay Bagumbayan in Balanga City, Bataan; Barangay Simbulan and Barangay Catigan in Toril, Davao City; Barangay Talisay in San Isidro, Barangay Corporacion in Lupun, Barangay Magdug in Governor Generoso, Davao Oriental; Barangay Diton in Margosatubig, Zamboanga del Sur and Barangay Lapuan in Don Marcelino, Davao Occidental.

Senator Francis "Chiz" Escudero, chairperson of the Committee on Education, Arts and Culture, said the establishment of national high schools in various barangays would make secondary education more accessible to local residents.

Escudero said the bill would help address the problem faced by people living in far-flung barangays, "who have to trek bumpy roads daily just to attend classes and those parents who can barely afford the expenses of sending their children to high schools located downtown."

"The establishment of secondary schools in various barangays will significantly and particularly help the parents and students who have long aspired for an accessible and affordable education to be situated in their place," he said.

The Senate also approved the separation and conversion of several national high schools in Kalinga, Zamboanga del Norte and Davao Occidental.

Escudero said that government is constitutionally mandated to take "appropriate steps to make quality education "accessible to all and establish, maintain, and support a complete, adequate, and integrated system of education relevant to the needs of the people and society."

Colleges to be integrated, converted and renamed include: Dr. Emilio B. Espinosa, Sr. Memorial State College of Agriculture and Technology Campus Learning Site in Cawayan, Masbate; Davao Oriental State College of Science and Technology in Mati City, Davao Oriental; South Cotabato State College in Surallah, South Cotabato; Sorsogon State College in Sorsogon; Northwestern Mindanao State College of Science and Technology in Tangub, Misamis Occidental and Ramon Magsaysay Technological University in Iba, Zambales. (MaeJoy Albano-Miranda)

News Latest News Feed