Press Release
September 2, 2016

Senate to honor 2016 Metrobank Foundation, Inc.
outstanding teachers, soldiers and cops

The Senate, which has traditionally honored winners of the Metrobank Foundation's yearly search for outstanding Filipinos, will welcome the 2016 awardees who will pay a courtesy call on the Senators on Tuesday, September 6, 2016.

A recognition program led by Senate President Aquilino "Koko" Pimentel III will be held at the Sen. Padilla Room at 2 p.m., where the awardees will be conferred resolutions commending their dedication and commitment to their respective professions.

The event will be followed by a presentation of the awardees and a photo opportunity at the Session Hall at 3 p.m.

The 2016 Metrobank Foundation Inc. Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS) and the Country's Outstanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) has produced a total of 30 awardees that went through a rigorous selection process and selected by a panel of judges composed of distinguished personalities representing different sectors of society. The country's outstanding teachers, soldiers and police officers are honored for their commitment to excellence, dedication to service and selfless desire to serve communities even in the most trying of circumstances.

The winners of this year's SOT are Winona Diola Muntinlupa City; Rujealyn Cancino of Lingayen, Pangasinan; Josephine Chonie Obseñares of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; Arnol Rosales of Naujan, Oriental Mindoro; Dr. Roy Basa of Bacolod City, Negros Occidental; Nelson Agoyaoy of Caloocan City); Ma. Regaele Olarte of Muntinlupa City; and Dr. Katherine Faith Bustos of Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya.

The TOPS awardees are Lieutenant Colonel Eliglen Villaflor, Technical Sergeants Danilo Ramos and Bernardo Tacbas from the Philippine Army; Lieutenant Wilfredo Manalang, Jr., Staff Sergeant Albert Eleazar, and Intelligence Specialist Chief Fernando Parcon from the Philippine Navy; Lieutenant Colonel Oliver Bañaria, Master Sergeant Abel Idusma, and Technical Sergeant Andersen Avellana are the winners from the Philippine Air Force. Colonel Jocelyn Turla from the Technical Administrative Services completes this year's batch of winners.

COPS awardees, meanwhile, include Police Chief Inspector Ryan Manongdo; Police Superintendent Jemuel Siason; Police Senior Superintendent Susan Jalla; Police Superintendent Mario Rariza, Jr.; Police Officer 2 Fatima Peñones Lanuza; Police Officer 3 Nida Gregas; Senior Police Officer 1 Mhay Rubio; Senior Police Officer 2 Jeffrey Ojao; Senior Police Officer 3 Hamidhan Tebbeng; and Senior Police Officer 3 Ezrael Lantingan. (Yvonne A. Almirañez)

News Latest News Feed