Press Release
July 18, 2016

Villar SIPAG launches training on strategic management of community and social enterprises

Villar SIPAG (Social Institute for Poverty Alleviation and Governance) in partnership with the Senate Committee on Agriculture and Food, launched a training program on strategic management of community and social enterprises at Villar SIPAG, C5 Extension Road, Pulang Lupa Uno, Las Pinas.

The seminar was aimed at helping social enterprises grow their operations, make them better managers and administrators, and further encourage them to help improve the lives of the people in their communities especially in the drive towards uplifting them from poverty.

The free training-workshop on "Integrating Poverty Measures in the Performance Management of Community Enterprises" was participated in by the 20 Villar SIPAG Awards 2015 winners. These are cooperatives from different parts of the country which were chosen as models of good practices in poverty reduction. The cooperatives received a plaque and P250,000 each to be used to start a new business or to expand an existing project.

Sen. Cynthia Villar, director of Villar SIPAG, said training programs should be made available to these organizations in order to enhance the capabilities of its members. Villar also values the role of community enterprises in empowering the people to improve their lives.

The participating cooperatives were:

1. Abra Diocesan Teachers and Employees Multipurpose Cooperative (Abra)

2. Agri-Aqua Network International (AANI) (Quezon City)

3. Barbaza Multipurpose Cooperative (Antique)

4. Baug CARP Beneficiairies Multipurpose Cooperative (Agusan del Norte)

5. Besao Multipurpose Cooperative (Mountain Province)

6. Diffun Saranay and Development Cooperative (Quirino)

7. Dumingag Organic Farmers Credit and Savings Cooperative (Zamboanga del Sur)

8. Duran Farm Agri-Business and Training Center (Bulacan)

9. Laak Multipurpose Cooperative (Compostela Valley)

10. Lamac Multipurpose Cooperative (Cebu)

11. Metro Ormoc Community Multipurpose Cooperative (Leyte)

12. Northern Mindanao Federation of Dairy Cooperative (Misamis Oriental)

13. Northern Samar Multipurpose Cooperative (Northern Samar)

14. Sacred Heart Savings Cooperative (Ilocos Sur)

15. Simbayanan ni Maria Multipurpose Cooperative (Taguig City)

16. Socorro Empowered People's Cooperative (Surigao del Norte)

17. Sta. Catalina Multipurpose Cooperative (Cotabato)

18. Tabuk Multipurpose Cooperative (Apayao)

19. Tam-An Banaue Multipurpose Cooperative (Nueva Vizcaya)

20. Tubao Credit Cooperative (La Union)

News Latest News Feed