Press Release
February 3, 2016

Senate to launch centennial commemorative stamp

Senate President Franklin M. Drilon and Philippine Postal Corporation (PHLPost) Chairman Cesar Sarino will lead the launching of the Senate centennial commemorative stamp tomorrow, February 4 at the Recto-Laurel Room, Philippine Senate, Pasay City, to mark its 100 year (1916-2016) anniversary.

Senate Secretary Oscar G. Yabes said the commemorative stamp, measuring 40mm x 30mm, features the Philippine flag and Senate logo from 1987 to the present. It was designed by artist Luis "Junyee" E. Yee, Jr.

The launching of the commemorative stamp is the Senate's first major Centennial activity in celebrating its Centennial year. The Senate is celebrating its centennial year from October 2015 to October 2016 under Proclamation No. 1091 signed last August 7, 2015 by President Benigno S. Aquino III.

The proclamation calls on all national government offices, government-owned or controlled corporations (GOCCs), and local government units (LGUs), to support and extend "assistance and cooperation to the Senate in the observance of its Centennial year."

"Truly it is an honor for PHLPost to have become part of this celebration. It is but fitting that a stamp will immortalize the achievements of this August body which now have reached its centennial year," Sarino said.

He said PHLPost had commissioned Amstar Co. to print 101,000 copies of the stamps, to be sold at P15 each starting February 01, 2016.

The stamps and official first day cover are now available at the Post Shop, Central Post Office, Door 203, Liwasang Bonifacio in Manila and area post offices nationwide. (Apple Buenaventura)

News Latest News Feed