Press Release
January 26, 2016

Senators commend TOYM awardees

The Senate today adopted a resolution commending the 10 awardees of last year's "Outstanding Young Men (TOYM) of the Philippines."

Senate Resolution 1696 was introduced by Sen. Manuel "Lito" Lapid. The TOYM awardees are Raymond A. Abrea for accounting and finance, Jose Ramon P. Aliling for civil engineering, Michael Barney R. Almazar for law and legal aid, Geoffrey Bryan A. Chua for education, Patricia C. Evangelista for journalism, Safronio P. Fortich Jr. for arts and music, Donald Patrick L. Lim for community development, Nico Jose S. Nolledo for business, Roderick L. Salenga for public health and Rogelio B. Santos Jr. for social entrepreneurship.

"We at the Senate recognize the efforts of these young individuals whose selfless dedication to their profession and fields of endeavour contributed significantly to Philippine growth and benefitted the Filipino people," Senate President Franklin M. Drilon, who led the presentation of the resolution to the awardees, said.

The TOYM awards is an annual project organized and presented by the Junior Chamber International - Philippines otherwise known as the Philippine Jaycees, the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc. and the TOYM Foundation since 1959.

"This year's awardees will join the ranks of outstanding Filipinos who have been honoured by the Junior Chamber International - Philippines throughout the past 56 years," the resolution said.

An advocate of genuine tax reform, Abrea, helps educate politicians, celebrities, entrepreneurs and even lawyers in tax matters, and offers strategies for small businesses to achieve their bottomline while paying appropriate taxes.

Aliling, 37, is one of the most sought-after construction managers in the country and his company is the first in the Philippines to have triple ISO accreditation, covering management system, environment and occupational health and safety.

Almazar, heads a free legal aid clinic at the Philippine Embassy and Consulate in the United Arab Emirates. He has devoted his practice to protect migrant workers in the Middle East where his practical approach to assisting distressed Overseas Filipino Workers is being used as the pilot model in protecting the rights of more than three million Filipinos in the Arab region.

A dedicated multimedia journalist and documentary filmmaker, Evangelista won six international and nine local awards for her works on human rights, conflict, disaster, development and public interest issues. A pianist, composer and musical director, Fortich is an active figure in the local theatre scene in Manila and the musical director of Hong Kong Disneyland.

Lim, founder of digital marketing in the Philippines, is cited for his leadership in digitizing the Philippine business industry. His numerous awards include Asia's Most Influential Digital Media Professionals, Digital Marketer of the Year, Digital Leader of the Future award, Young Market Masters Award in Online Marketing and Certified Entrepreneur title by the Canadian Institute of Entrepreneurship. He is also the first recipient of the SPi Global Young Leadership Award in the Asia CEO Awards.

An associate professor of the University of the Philippines-College of Pharmacy, Salenga has devoted his life's work to improving the pharmacy practice in the country and introduced breakthrough academic models aimed at enhancing the training of pharmacy students.

Santos undertook nano-molecular research and clinical studies in the field of Alzheimer's disease and runs the Butterfly House, a non-government organization whose product is specifically designed to meet the needs of internally displaced people.

"The Philippine Senate proudly joins the Junior Chamber International - Philippines, Inc., TOYM Foundation, Inc. and the Gerry Roxas Foundation, Inc., in congratulating and commending the awardees who have proven their mettle for service of the greater good," the resolution said. (Pilar S. Macrohon)

News Latest News Feed