Press Release
May 10, 2011


In line with the lifting of the one year ban on appointments to government positions for defeated candidates, Senator Juan Miguel "Migz" Zubiri today filed a Senate Resolution 459 appealing to the President to exercise prudence in appointing individuals to key government posts.

"As a guide, the President may refrain from appointing individuals who have pending cases in courts, particularly on graft and corruption cases before the Sandiganbayan and other Courts and should appoint only individuals of proven competence, unsullied integrity and unquestionable honesty," Zubiri said.

Zubiri further urged President Aquino to use the investigative reports of various government agencies particularly the Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Ombudsman which includes cases filed against prospective appointees in screening their applicants.

Zubiri also called on the Commission on Appointment to block the appointment of any cabinet members of the Aquino administration who have pending cases in courts.

"If the administration is sincere in its campaign for daang matuwid or straight path, the President should not appoint those who have pending cases in the Sandiganbayan or any other courts as these cases have undergone preliminary prosecution for possible violation of laws. Let this be a yardstick for those who apply for any government position," Zubiri warned.

Zubiri also noted that the President may tap the services of career executives in various government agencies.

"Let us also give opportunity to the many efficient and qualified career executives in different government agencies who are waiting in line for the opportunity to better serve our country," the Mindanao solon said.

Among the positions the President has appointing powers are the Chief Justice and Justices in the Supreme Court, President Justice and Justices in the Court of Appeal, Court of Tax Appeals and the Sandiganbayan including chairmen and commissioners of Civil Service Commission, Comelec, Commission on Audit, Office of the Ombudsman, Commission on Human Rights, Cabinet Secretaries, Undersecretaries and Assistant Secretaries and Foreign Service Officers.

News Latest News Feed