FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES
Second Regular Session

B SEP-2 P5 4

SENATE S. No. 2590 NECEIVED BY

Introduced by Senator Richard J. Gordon

EXPLANATORY NOTE

The Philippine flag was sewn by the revolutionary junta in Hong Kong and first displayed in battle on May 28, 1898. It was formally unfurled during the proclamation of Philippine independence on June 12, 1898 by President Emilio Aguinaldo.

Article XVI, Section 1 of the Constitution provides: "The flag of the Philippines shall be red, white, and blue, with a sun and three stars, as consecrated and honored by the people and recognized by law."

The law governing the design, manner of display, and observance of respect for the Philippine flag is Republic Act No. 8491, enacted fittingly in 1998 or on the centennial of Philippine independence. The design adopted the mythical sun (with a face) common to many former Spanish colonies; the triangle of Masonry; the eight rays representing the first eight provinces that revolted and were put under martial law by the Spaniards during the start of the Philippine Revolution in 1896, namely: Batangas, Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna, Manila, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, and Tarlac. There are three stars representing the three major geographical divisions of the country: Luzon, the Visayas and Mindanao.

Not only does the flag represent principles of sovereignty and solidarity of the Philippine nation, it embodies the ideals and traditions of the Filipino people developed over the course of national history. Of history we refer to the period before the arrival of the Spanish up to the present, centuries replete with stories of struggles for independence and victory against colonizers. Behind the stories of the most celebrated names of national heroes lie the stories of our mostly-forgotten Muslim heroes, who displayed tremendous courage in the battles that they fought.

Among the most valiant soldiers were Lapu-Lapu, the king of Mactan, known as the first native of the archipelago to have resisted Spanish colonization. On the morning of April 27, 1521, Lapu-Lapu and the men of Mactan, armed with spears and *kampilan*, faced Spanish soldiers led by Portuguese explorer Ferdinand Magellan. In what would later be known as the Battle of Mactan, Magellan and several of his men were killed.

There was Sultan Kudarat, who united the Muslim clans in Cotobato, Lanao, and Basilan, and ruled for 50 years. He led many raids and battles against the Spanish from 1634 up to 1668 and inspired the Maranaos to oppose the building of a Spanish fort near Lake Lanao. There is also the story of Sirongan, the Rajah of Buayan, who successfully pushed back the enemy into the coast of Rio Grande, thwarting the first Spanish attempt to

colonize Buayan. He killed Esteban Rodriguez de Figueroa who led the first Spanish expedition to Cotabato, There are Kaliph Pulaka, Datu Amai Pakpak, Kapitan Laut Buisan, Sultan Jamalu'l Alam, Sultan Muwallil Wasit, Paduka Batara and Panginan Sarikula, who all fearlessly led their men in battles against the Spanish.

With their bravery, our Muslim heroes left an imprint on national history that, at the very least, must be given due recognition in the most heraldic item of national importance the Philippine flag. This bill proposes that the rays of the sun on the Philippine flag be increased from eight to nine, to symbolize the community of Muslim leaders who defended our land. They are our forgotten heroes, and through this proposal we seek to inculcate in the minds and hearts of our people a just pride in their native Muslim brothers who sacrificed their lives for the country's freedom. For these considerations, the passage of this

bill is earnestly sought.

RICHARD J. GORDON

Senator

FOURTEENTH CONGRESS OF THE
REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES
Second Regular Session

8 SEP -2 P5:4

SENATE S. No. <u>2**590**</u> HECEIVED BY

Introduced by Senator Richard J. Gordon

AN ACT

INCREASING THE NUMBER OF RAYS OF THE SUN ON THE PHILIPPINE FLAG FROM EIGHT TO NINE, AMENDING FOR THIS PURPOSE REPUBLIC ACT NO. 8491, OTHERWISE KNOWN AS THE FLAG AND HERALDIC CODE OF THE PHILIPPINES

Be it enacted by the Senate and the House of Representatives of the Philippines in Congress assembled:

- SECTION 1. Section 4 of Republic Act No. 8491, otherwise known as the Flag and
 Heraldic Code of the Philippines, is hereby amended to read as follows:
- "SECTION 4. The flag of the Philippines shall be blue, white and red with a[n] NINE[eight]-rayed golden-yellow sun and three five-pointed stars, as consecrated and honored by the people."
 - **SEC. 2.** This Act shall take effect 15 days following its publication in the Official Gazette or in at least two newspapers of general circulation.
- 8 Approved,

6

7